I like… singing.

I like singing.

I probably prefer singing over actually talking. Most of the time I am “talking” to myself, I’m really singing. I constantly am humming a tune and singing falsetto under my breath. This terribly annoys my wife — sorry babe 😉

I grew up singing. My mom sang along with praise/worship cassettes in the car everywhere we drove. When my dad got enough beers in him (aka ‘liquid courage’), he’d start singing along to the Hank Williams tape blaring in his pickup truck while we were fishing on the Siuslaw River.

As an adolescent, I only listened to music I could sing along with… if the band/artist had an obscure voice (or was a female), then I usually wasn’t interested. I leaned towards a large dose of pop-punk (MxPx, Blink-182, The Ataris, etc.) & ska (OC Supertones, Less Than Jake, Reel Big Fish, etc.)… btw, my musical preferences have definitely evolved since I was 15, but I still enjoy some MxPx blasting w/ the windows rolled down on a long road trip.

Lately, I’ve been singing along to the likes of Bon Iver, Foster the People, Will Reagan and Taylor Swift (my daughters love her & her tunes are EXTREMELY catchy, so stop judging).

I also sing songs that I write.

This Friday I’ll be singing five songs that I’ve wrote over a span of 9 years…

The chorus to one of those songs goes:

 

It’s a simple reminder for me and those listening that as much as I love singing, there’s is more to life than getting up on stage & singing my guts out.

What are we singing about? Who are we singing to?

 

 

Leave a Reply

